top of page

Reflections from my Outreachy mentorship

My co-mentor Kate Glazko wrote a great blog post the other day about her work mentoring Manel Rhaiem on Project Haiku.

I am no longer working in Connected Devices, so my experience as a mentor has been a bit different than Kate's. But I will say that we were fortunate to all be able to be together in London at the Mozilla Work Week to sync up and spend some time together.

Since the Work Week, I have tried to be in daily communication with Manel to find out how she is doing on her project. The Outreachy experience is unique in that the intern is remote, so I think communication is critical (just as it is in many Mozilla teams that are geographically distributed). We can talk about her project, but we can also take opportunities to explore professional development and prep her for her eventual entrance into the tech workforce.

The ability to listen is also important - and I am always keen to hear what she thinks about her internship experience, as well as the larger scope of what Mozilla is doing.

So far from my perspective this has been a great experience - I feel the same way I did about the Outreachy mentorship as I did last year when I was a co-mentor for TechWomen. I look forward to working with both Kate and Manel until the internship concludes at the end of August.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
take a look

 

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page